Graduate fellowships at UNH


NHSGC annually awards about 2 fellowships for graduate study in NASA-related disciplines at UNH. NASA-related disciplines cover a broad spectrum of fields, including: space physics; astrophysics; science education; computer science; engineering; Earth, ocean, atmospheric, or life sciences, which utilize space technology and/or adopt a "planetary" view of the global environment.

Past recipients have been enrolled in degree programs in the Departments of Earth Sciences, Physics, Natural Resources, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Engineering.

Application information

2021-2022 Space Grant Fellows

  • Nathan Blais, Natural Resources (advisor Jessica Ernakovich)
  • Clarice Perryman, Earth and Environmental Science (advisor Ruth Varnier)

Our Past Space Grant Fellows:


  • Kaitlyn Baillargeon, Natural Resources and Earth System Sciences (advisor Scott Ollinger)
  • Emma Burkett, Geology (advisor Julie Bryce)
  • John Hastings, Natural Resources and Earth System Sciences (advisor Scott Ollinger)
  • Natalie Kashi, Natural Resources and Earth System Sciences (advisor Ruth Varnier)
  • Nicholas Lubinsky, Physics (advisor Harald Kucharek)
  • Kellen McArthur, Geology (advisor Ruth Varnier)
  • Haley Nolen, Molecular and Evolutionary Systems Biology (advisor Anissa Poleatewich)
  • Cooper Park, Molecular and Evolutionary Systems Biology (advisor Cheryl Andam)
  • Clarice Perryman, Earth and Environmental Science (advisor Ruth Varnier)
  • Jonathan Sreter, Microbiology (advisor Krisztina Varga)
  • Ryan Wilmot, Microbiology (advisor Lou Tisa)
  • Coleman Wimsatt, Materials Science (advisor James Krasnowski)


  • Natalie Kashi, Natural Resources and Earth System Sciences (advisor Erik Hobbie)
  • Kellen McArthur, Earth Sciences (advisor Ruth Varner)
  • Cooper Park (Fall 2018), Molecular and Evolutionary Systems Biology (advisor Cheryl Andam)
  • Jonathan Sreter, Microbiology (advisor Krizstina Varga)
  • Ryan Wilmot (Spring 2019), Molecular, Cellular, and Biomedical Sciences (advisor Louis Tisa)
  • Colman Wimsatt (Fall 2018), Materials Sciences (advisor James Krzanowski)


  • Olivia Bartlett, Natural Resources and Earth System Sciences (advisor Mark Ducey)
  • Sam Bingham, Physics (advisor Chris Mouikis)
  • Sophia Burke, Earth Sciences (advisor Ruth Varner)
  • Jessica DelGreco, Earth Sciences (advisor Michael Palace)
  • David Kenward, Physics (advisor Marc Lessard)
  • Nick Lubinsky, Physics (advisor Harald Kucharek)
  • Tamara Marcus, Earth Sciences (advisor Ruth Varner)
  • Anthony Saikin, Physics (advisor Jichun Zhang)


  • Maxwell Grady, Physics (advisor Mark Mcconnell)
  • Natalie Kashi, Natural Resources & the Environment (advisor Ruth Varner)
  • Ryan Lawrence, Earth & Environmental Science (advisor Ruth Varner)
  • Conor Madison, Natural Resources (advisor Scott Ollinger)
  • Kristoff Paulson, Physics (advisor Charles Smith)


  • Joseph Jensen, Physics (advisor Joachim "Jimmy" Raeder)
  • Natalie Kashi, Natural Resources & the Environment (advisor Ruth Varner)
  • Christopher Lyon, Chemistry (advisor Eric Burda)
  • Amanda Madden, Physics (advisor James Ryan)
  • Devon O'Rourke, Microbiology & Genetics (advisor Vaughn Cooper)


  • Ryan Cassotto, Earth Sytems Science (advisor Margaret Boettcher)
  • Nicholas Dowhaniuk, Natural Resources (advisor Joel Hartter)
  • Dara Feddersen, Chemistry (advisors Howard Mayne / Ruth Varner)


  • Stephanie Coster, Natural Resourses & the Environment (advisor Adrienne Kovach)
  • Camden Ertley, Physics/Space Science Center (advisor Mark McConnell)
  • Justin Williams, Nat. Resources/Earth Sys. Research Ctr. (advisor Barry Rock)


  • Chelsea Corr, Complex Systems Research Center (advisor Jack Dibb)
  • Amy Underwood, Mechanical Engineering (advisor May-Win Thein)


  • Benjamin Jenkins, Mechanical Engineering
  • Elizabeth Burakowski, Natural Resources (NRESS Ph.D.)
  • Franklin Sullivan, Natural Resources
  • Mimi Szeto, Natural Resources (NRESS Ph.D.)


  • Allison Jaynes, Space Science Center
  • Samuel Meacham, Complex Systems Research Ctr.


  • Monica Bobra, Space Science Center
  • Jennifer Hegarty, Climate Change Research Center
  • Bradford Larsen, Computer Science
  • Amanda Plagge, Ocean Process Analysis Laboratory
  • Marla Striped Face-Collins, Complex Sys. Res. Ctr.


  • Michael Borelli, Mechanical Engineering
  • Tricia McCarthy, Complex Systems Research Ctr.
  • Brent Sadler, Space Science Center


  • Sarah Jones, Space Science Center
  • Richard MacLean, Complex Systems Research Ctr.
  • Will Kessler, Complex Systems Research Ctr.


  • Gerald Hornok, Climate Change Research Center
  • Oliver Olson, Mechanical Engineering


  • Michael Adams, Mechanical Engineering
  • Shane Bradt, Zoology and remote sensing
  • Kirsten Lloyd, Complex Systems Reserch Ctr.
  • Kristin Simunac, Space Science Center


  • Lorna Ellis, Space Science Center
  • Ryan Huntley, Complex Systems Research Center
  • Peter Ingraham, Complex Systems Research Ctr.
  • Daniel Seaton, Space Science Center


  • Katharine Reeves, Space Science Center
  • Susan Campbell, Natural Resources
  • Ned Eldredge, Complex Systems Research Center
  • Carolyn Girod, Complex Systems Research Center


  • Jeanne Anderson, Complex Systems Research Ctr.
  • Mickel A. McClish, Space Science Center
  • Brogan Morton, Mechanical Engineering
  • Peter S. Tardie, Natural Resources